Posted on

 Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

The-Hobbit-Battle-of-the-Five-Armies
Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

 

I’ll start off saying this movie was quite a disappointment for me. Was it bad? Not really, can’t call it good either though. I’ll start off with the beginning of the film. It all starts with Smaug rampaging Laketown. Pretty much what we expected from the huge build-up from the prequel. Nothing wrong with that really. But what disappointed me how easily Smaug was dealt with. It felt like the dragon just came in, destroyed some things and then died. Basically there was this this huge built up which resulted in having to wait a year, and then you receive the payoff which is just gone after 10 minutes and felt like less. Then the plot of the actual movie begins, just feels weird in I can’t say that I’m a big fan of the neither of the trilogies but I can say that there were some questions after the movie which were left unanswered. For example, what happened to the gold, the Arkenstone, the king of the mountain etc.? (I know you can find the answers but still feels that it shouldn’t get left out). This is something that I feel shouldn’t be too complicated to invest a few minutes for. These were things that didn’t bother me at the time as I didn’t pay attention to it for some reason.

 The one thing I noticed the most though during the movie was the lack of dialogue throughout the movie. I understand that the movie basically revolves around one huge fight but it still feels like most of the talking were fillers and weren’t quite necessary or had any real meaning. I began to realize my  A lot of people including me were disappointed with the CGI effects, relying too much on computer animated effects.

There were also scenes which were too unrealistic for me. One scene where Legolas literally runs upwards only on falling rocks doesn’t really make sense to me. Another scene where the orc leader Azog sort of gets knocked out under the ice just to wake up and launch up into the air, especially after an already long fight and everything gets dragged out.

The orcs doesn’t seem like a proper threat most of the time either as any main character basically just could kill 20 of them during a 30 second scene like it was nothing. Even Bilbo threw small rocks at the orcs so they fainted/died. Although it’s said that “hobbits are uncanny marksmen with any kind of missile weapon” it still looks ridiculous for me. Despite me only ranting in this review I still believe that if you’re a proper fan you’ll like this film as a finisher for the series.

Leave a Reply

