Posted on

Zes

10420042_734925266588767_8387606618618592233_n

Zes is an electronic music producer from Netherlands. He himself chose to call the music genre he produces as melancholy/breaks. I don’t know if you can call melancholy a music genre but the word could be explained as a gloomy state of mine or just sadness. Which is a fits his music good in my opinion. Breaks (or breakbeats) is an electronic music genre where the drums usually are on a non-straightened 4/4 drum pattern (percussion instruments don’t okay directly on beat). As opposed to the steady beat of house, techno and trance. This just basically means that the drums are more advanced than a regular EDM genre.

Zes is an underrated producer, which might be because his music is not like much of the mainstream music. His music differs from much other and is overall quite unique. I personally love this kind of music, it’s chill and has unique and powerful drums. Great music to crank up the volume on your subwoofer.

I would recommend you to give his latest EP from 2014 a try, the feel and atmosphere of his music is amazing, it’s very unique and there’s no other that have such an similar style.

I think this deserves a lot more attention than most of mainstream house producers etc. His music is harder to produce and actually stands out which is why I dislike that Zes is so underrated. But I guess that’s how a lot of music works now nowadays, people enjoy to listen to the same thing over and over again on the radio. But we all have different music taste. Personally I love to find an underrated artist that stands out. One thing that especially makes me happy is when an artist or producer who is different goes mainstream. Example of this is one of my favorite producers: Cashmere Cat. I listened to him a long time ago, now he has millions of plays on spotify and has recently made a song with Ariana Grande. I still listen to him and I love his music.

   -Ludwig Sundell

Leave a Reply

