Posted on

Frank Ocean nostalgia, ULTRA

Nostalgia, ULTRA is Rn’B-artist Frank Ocean’s debut album which he released on his Tumblr free of charge. Francis got tired on his label who just kept ignoring him so he put his album up on his Tumblr followed by a tweet that said:

 “i. did. this. not ISLAND DEF JAM. that’s why you see no label logo on the artwork that I DID. guess its my fault for trusting my dumbass lawyer and signing my career over to a failing company. fuck Def Jam & any company that goes the length of signing a kid with dreams & talent w/ no intention of following through. fuck em. now back to my day. i want some oatmeal and toast. brunch swag.”

Image

I’m not much of a Rn’B fan but there’s something with Frank Ocean’s music that’s just really capturing and completely breathtaking. And this mixtape of his really shows how talented he is. Every song on this album is magic to my ears, even though all the tracks aren’t his. He has two songs on this album that he can’t actually perform live because they are “stolen”. The first one you would hear if you played the album would be Strawberry Swing originally made by Coldplay, the second one is Eagles, Hotel California. Of course he rewrote the lyrics and made it into something of his own. But because of legal issues he can’t perform these songs live.

This album/mixtape is one of a very few that I really enjoy all the way through. This masterpiece is now on my top ten-list of the best albums of all time.

I can’t do anything more than just warmly recommend this album. So download it and don’t feel bad about it because it’s free.

/ Petta-P

Leave a comment