Posted on

The Impossible, 2012

The-Impossible-International-Poster

The impossible is a movie about a family on vacation in khao lak when the tsunami struck Thailand in 2004. It’s based on a true story of a real family who experienced the event first hand. You get to see how the family tries to survive the consequences of the tsunami.

First off I must bring up the fantastic acting done by the actors in this film. Ewan McGregor and Naomi Watts play the parents of a family with three children. Their acting was good but I really didn’t expect anything else, but the one performance that blew me away was Tom Holland as the middle boy Lucas. He did an amazing job expressing his emotions and making it believable at the same time. You felt his struggle to stay strong and his heartbreak of seeing his mother in the state that she was in.

I really enjoyed this movie a great deal. It was very realistic and you could clearly see that they did a lot of research and talking to families before making it. It does a terrific job of bringing out the emotions portrayed on screen into your own head. The movie is at most times not just sad because you feel for the characters, but because your head starts to project what happens to them onto your own family. I think that is much do to the great acting and the way it is written to really emphasize that this family is just like your own. It begins by showing them talking about first world problems like career changes, money and   “Oh did I really turn on the alarm before we left?” But throughout the movie you see that their priorities changes when it comes down to life and death. Another thing I liked was that the movie showed how people really came together and helped each other even though they had lost everything. I’ve always had the image of when human beings have to fight for their lives, people start to get selfish and it’s kind of that “every man for himself” attitude, but some things in this movie made me feel like there is still some hope left in humanity.

To sum things up I highly recommend The Impossible to those who want to watch a movie that leaves you with something to think about afterwards. It is one of a handful of films that made me cry for real and maybe that’s why I now consider this to be one of my favorite films.

/ Alice film 11

Leave a comment